“Global competence is such a valuable skill in today’s world, and I feel that my experiences with JWAC have played an immense role in the opportunities I am able to enjoy today.”

– Mrigayu Ghosh, 20 Under 20 Class of 2021



20 Under 20 Logo

In 2016, the World Affairs Council of Dallas/Fort Worth created “20 Under 20” as part of the Global Young Leaders Program. This initiative honors 20 exceptional high school students under the age of 20 who are active in their local Junior World Affairs Council club (JWAC). 20 Under 20 brings a spotlight to young people in the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex who consistently give back to their communities and exemplify what it means to be a global citizen.

Based on JWAC educator sponsor nominations and student applications for 20 Under 20, a Council advisory panel will choose the top 20 students to represent the class of 2024. An event will be held in the late spring to recognize the 20 Under 20 class of that year and will feature a prominent keynote speaker. Students will also be recognized for their accomplishments by the Council to the great North Texas community.

20 Under 20 is generously sponsored by Kathy and John Ward



There are no strict requirements for eligibility for 20 under 20, but JWAC sponsors should consider nominating students who meet some of these standards:

  1. Active JWAC member.
  2. Maintains at least a 3.0 GPA on 4.0 scale.
  3. Is a leader in the school or community.
  4. Attended several Council public programs during high school.
  5. Completed at least 10 hours of community service during the year of application and can provide proof of service.


20 Under 20 – Class of 2024

  • Matthew Boyd, Trinity High School, Euless
  • Caroline Carter, Hillcrest, Dallas
  • Ashley Cole, International Leadership of Texas Garland High School, Garland
  • Reel Elkhidir, L.D. Bell High School, Hurst
  • Courtney Kleinenbroich, Ursuline Academy of Dallas, Dallas
  • Shelby Lovejoy, Ursuline Academy of Dallas, Dallas
  • Mary McColm, Trinity High School, Euless
  • Anisha Menezes, Grapevine High School, Grapevine
  • Emma Morales, Ursuline Academy of Dallas, Dallas
  • Danielle O’Sullivan, Ursuline Academy of Dallas, Dallas
  • Hanah Park, Imagine International Academy of North Texas, McKinney
  • Anahita Poongundran, Imagine International Academy of North Texas, McKinney
  • Natalia Rivera-Diaz, Alcuin School, Dallas
  • Sofia Stenson, Uplift North Hills Preparatory, Irving
  • Alexia Stine, Hillcrest High School, Dallas
  • Eric Tong, Grapevine High School, Grapevine
  • Nika Vahadi, Ursuline Academy of Dallas, Dallas
  • Abby Watson, Alcuin School, Dallas
  • Ayden Yee, Trinity High School, Euless
  • Amelia Zydorek, Rick Reedy High School, Frisco